Bogota is actually a lot closer to Miami than Los Angeles is, something like 2 hours 55 minutes versus 4 hours 45 minutes. We landed on time in Bogota Airport, just after midnight. The connecting flight to Cartagena was not due to depart until 5.25am. On this occasion I was hoping on there being a bit of a wait at immigration and for luggage but we obviously breezed through! I’d initially planned to stay awake until the flight but by about 2.30am it became apparent that this wasn’t going to happen. Therefore I set I everything possessed with an alarm for 4am. Despite having a bit of a doze the alarm clocks weren’t needed.

For the next three nights I would be staying in the Cartagena Intercontinental Hotel. This may sound a bit lavish compared to my usual standard of dwelling. However I had some IHG points to spend and there was great promotion with heavily discounted redemptions during May. The Intercontinental is not located in Cartagena’s old town. I’ll be moving across to there on Thursday. Instead this hotel is in the more modern part, along the beachfront that slightly resembles Benidorm.

They certainly love a sculpture in Colombia. Right outside the Cartagena Intercontinental is the Big Foot Statue (for obvious reasons) by Israeli artist Idan Zareski. Thankfully I was allowed to check in early. Following a kip, I headed down to the pool which is pretty smart to say the least. Poolside beers cost about treble the going rate in Colombia but at £3 and amazing views, I’d still consider that to be a bargain.

IMG_20170523_164326812
Hotel room view
IMG_20170525_093536459_HDR.jpg
Big Foot Statue
IMG_20170523_164410466
Not a bad pool

 

