Despite having some initial reservations about Pattaya it was an adequate place to spend a few days doing very little. It was then back to Bangkok by bus. I was slightly dubious about booking the transfer via an amateur-looking websites that don’t even send email confirmation but the minibus arrived on time at the hotel.

Every quarter IHG have a hotel promotion called PointBreaks. They list about 100 hotels worldwide where you can get a redemption at 5000 points, equivalent to around £15-£20. Normally the list contains quite a lot of obscure destinations but as luck would have it the Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom was on the current list. Although a little bit worn it’s still a nice hotel, especially when compared to some the places that I normally stay in. The pool is excellent and there’s even a rooftop tennis court among the surrounding skyscrapers.

Upon checking my emails I noticed a message inviting me to check-in for tomorrow’s flight to Beijing. Travelling to China tomorrow was news to me! I’d forgotten all about this and must have made a speculative booking months ago when I was looking to visit China. One of the best things about Avios redemptions is that you can cancel them for a small penalty charge. Unfortunately there was some glitch in the British Airways website that wouldn’t allow me to cancel online. The only other option was a phone call and these cost £2 per minute from Thailand. Without wishing to be rude to British Airways staff, there seems to be a variety of intelligence in the people who work in their call centres. I once spend 25 minutes attempting a simple flight change. Luckily today’s person was spot on and the Avios were refunded in less than five minutes. It was certainly worth the call to get back 17500 Avios miles.

IMG_20170407_094206936_HDR
Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom

 

