Obviously Nashville has a renowned music scene. Like many potential actors move to Los Angeles to pursue their acting dreams, lots of people have the same idea about making it as a musician in Nashville. There’s been someone staying in the hostel room who’s probably of this ilk. I didn’t get chance to speak to him as he was either out when I got in at night or asleep when I was up in the morning, with his guitar case and cowboy boots next to the bed. Presumably he must be playing in one of the countless live music bars.

The main street through Nashville, Broadway, has live music bar after live music bar. Despite it being potentially one of the quietest times of the year, a mid-week afternoon in January, there were plenty of people inside these establishments enjoying the music. Country is not one of my favourite genres of music to be honest. I do quite enjoy a few tunes by the likes of Glen Campbell, Johnny Cash, Kenny Rogers and Willie Nelson. Kind of what might be described as more traditional country music. I can’t stand a lot of the modern stuff by Kenny Chesney, Tim McGraw or Carrie Underwood. That said, some of my favourite acts have a bit of a country sound to their music such as Wilco and Band of Horses. There is plenty of this alt-country style played in the Nashville bars, although if you insist on Shania Twain or Billy Ray Cyrus covers they are also easy to come across. When in Memphis I loved seeing the Sun Studios and Graceland as I enjoy hearing about the history of rock’n’roll. However I didn’t bother with the tour of the Ryman Auditorium here, as impressive as the building looked. The stories of the country artists at the Ryman probably wouldn’t have appealed to me that much.

Later in the afternoon I took a break from the bars and walked across the iconic John Seigenthaler Pedestrian Bridge in order to get some nice photos of the waterfront and Nashville skyline. The AT&T Building, commonly known as the Batman Building for obvious reasons, dominates the landscape. Apparently it divides opinions but I think it looks great.

img_5317
Broadway with the Batman Building in the background
IMG_5306.JPG
Ryman Auditorium
img_5331
The John Seigenthaler Pedestrian  Bridge
img_5333
The view from the bridge
