While walking down the road this morning I saw a t-shirt stand set up on the pavement pavement. Upon closer inspection all the t-shirts seem to be advocating Donald Trump. A little bit further up the road was a line of people queuing up outside the Springfield Convention Center. Across the street was a small clutch of protestors, placards held up. Surely Donnie wasn’t coming to town. It turns out he wasn’t but his lackey, vice president nominee Mike Pence, was about to give a speech here.

I had a bit more of my tattoo done this afternoon. It all went fine except that as it is located on the back of my upper arm, I couldn’t really see whether it was in the exact right place. Now I realise it wasn’t. I get annoyed by pictures that don’t fill gaps on wall spaces properly so knowing that this wasn’t perfectly symmetrical would do my head in! As you can’t really rub these things out and start again I’ll now have to think of something else to go into the space.

As I think I’ve already mentioned Springfield seems a nice enough city. It’s centre is quite small but is pleasant enough to walk around. The only trouble has been that for the past two days most of it has been shut so today was the first chance I’d had to have a proper look inside places. I always like to see a cinema in a town/city centre so this provided bonus points  for Springfield. Bad Moms has been a bit of a sleeper-hit as they say in the movie industry. Quite often such films are quite good as people have gone to watch them following favourable word-of-mouth reviews. Although it had a couple of laughs I wasn’t that impressed.

While Springfield should be praised for having a city centre cinema, its public transport is fairly abysmal. There’s not even a bus to the airport. Uber doesn’t appear to have made it here so I have to make do with an old fashioned taxi. The clue that Springfield isn’t an aviation hub is in the name Springfield National Airport, not Springfield International Airport. As I’m flying at 5am tomorrow there was no other realistic option than to sleep there tonight. And it was eerily quiet. I was clearly the only person sleeping in the airport. Apart from noticing a security guard at about 11pm, I didn’t see another person over the rest of the night. No cleaners, staff, security, nor anyone else you’d normally see around. With the whole airside section locked up it felt like I was the only person in the airport. That said, Springfield has been by far the pick of the airports I’ve had the pleasure of kipping in so far. As well as there being no announcements or any sort of other noise, they have free and fast WiFi (probably as I’m the only person using it), no drafts or freezing air conditioning and perhaps most impressively, comfy full-size couches to sleep on. If it got any more comfortable than this then I’d have been in danger of oversleeping and missing the plane!

dsc00007
It’s new Pence is in town but it’s hardly the Million Man March
DSC00017.JPG
More of Springfield’s downtown district
img_20160906_222108129
Springfield National Airport
