I awoke to my phone making a noise in a ringtone that I didn’t recognise. It was maybe 2 or 3am. On screen were details of a missing child. In the morning the message wasn’t on the phone and I wasn’t sure if it was a dream. Looking into it, there is something called an Amber Alert that is usually used to try and help find missing children. It’s in your phone’s settings and if it is turned on all phones within a certain radius of the incident will receive the alert. In this case it was a false alarm and the child was soon found.

The plan for today was to visit Red Rocks, a park on the outskirts of Denver that contains the famous concert amphitheatre. Having seen pictures of the place the scenery looks amazing. If you take the light-rail to the end of the line, Red Rocks is a scenic five-mile walk away. However I discovered that I’d left it too late as when there’s a concert taking place the area is closed from two o’clock in the afternoon. This was a bit annoying as today was the only chance I’d have to go.

Therefore I just had a wander around Denver. There’s plenty of interesting buildings to see, both old and modern. At one point I saw the Google Street View car driving around so I could well be in the updated version for Denver. However I think they remove people from view who are doing daft things, such as taking a photo of the car with their phone!

Later in the afternoon it chucked it down, thunder and lightning too. The thunder and lightning were close together so not wishing to get struck by lightning I took refuge in a bar. All the tellies were showing American Football so I decided that I need a team to follow. I later did a random draw of all the teams at odds of 25/1 or less to win the Super Bowl (I don’t want a set of losers) and out came the Pittsburgh Steelers. Working in the bar was a girl with rather large red spots. I hadn’t had enough alcohol to ask so using the powers of the internet I discovered that it is a bit of a fad among the fitness aficionados. Apparently the idea is that if you put a glass over an area it will create suction that increases blood flow to the skin, relieving training aches and pains. It’s supposedly all the rage at the Olympics. This kind of made sense as this lady looked like the sort to frequent gyms. Either that or it was a hell of a rash!

One of the advantages of a hotel over a hostel is that you have your own television to watch whatever you wish. I haven’t seen as much of the Olympics as I’d have liked so tonight was a good chance to have a look. None of the events Great Britain were winning barrowloads of medals were shown. It was mostly a Phelps love-in with a bit of gymnastics and basketball. One of the television ads starred MC Hammer advertising some wall adhesive under the guise that it’s not hammer time. I’m not sure of Hammer needs the cash but someone who doesn’t is Lionel Ritchie who even lowered his standards of cheesiness and shamelessness which were already pretty low. In an advert for an NFL television channel, Lionel refers to the the legendary quarterback in one of his famous tunes by singing, “It’s Peyton on Sunday morning.” Seriously, does the man have no self-respect?

I awoke to my phone making a noise in a ringtone that I didn’t recognise. It was maybe 2 or 3am. On screen were details of a missing child. In the morning the message wasn’t on the phone and I wasn’t sure if it was a dream. Looking into it, there is something called an Amber Alert that is usually used to try and help find missing children. It’s in your phone’s settings and if it is turned on all phones within a certain radius of the incident will receive the alert. In this case it was a false alarm and the child was soon found.

The plan for today was to visit Red Rocks, a park on the outskirts of Denver that contains the famous concert amphitheatre. Having seen pictures of the place the scenery looks amazing. If you take the light-rail to the end of the line, Red Rocks is a scenic five-mile walk away. However I discovered that I’d left it too late as when there’s a concert taking place the area is closed from two o’clock in the afternoon. This was a bit annoying as today was the only chance I’d have to go.

Therefore I just had a wander around Denver. There’s plenty of interesting buildings to see, both old and modern. At one point I saw the Google Street View car driving around so I could well be in the updated version for Denver. However I think they remove people from view who are doing daft things, such as taking a photo of the car with their phone!

Later in the afternoon it chucked it down, thunder and lightning too. The thunder and lightning were close together so not wishing to get struck by lightning I took refuge in a bar. All the tellies were showing American Football so I decided that I need a team to follow. I later did a random draw of all the teams at odds of 25/1 or less to win the Super Bowl (I don’t want a set of losers) and out came the Pittsburgh Steelers. Working in the bar was a girl with rather large red spots. I hadn’t had enough alcohol to ask so using the powers of the internet I discovered that it is a bit of a fad among the fitness aficionados. Apparently the idea is that if you put a glass over an area it will create suction that increases blood flow to the skin, relieving training aches and pains. It’s supposedly all the rage at the Olympics. This kind of made sense as this lady looked like the sort to frequent gyms. Either that or it was a hell of a rash!

One of the advantages of a hotel over a hostel is that you have your own television to watch whatever you wish. I haven’t seen as much of the Olympics as I’d have liked so tonight was a good chance to have a look. None of the events Great Britain were winning barrowloads of medals were shown. It was mostly a Phelps love-in with a bit of gymnastics and basketball. One of the television ads starred MC Hammer advertising some wall adhesive under the guise that it’s not hammer time. I’m not sure of Hammer needs the cash but someone who doesn’t is Lionel Ritchie who even lowered his standards of cheesiness and shamelessness which were already pretty low. In an advert for an NFL television channel, Lionel refers to the the legendary quarterback in one of his famous tunes by singing, “It’s Peyton on Sunday morning.” Seriously, does the man have no self-respect?

DenverDSC04471
Denver Art Museum
DenverDSC04461
Colorado State Capitol building, apologies for the spelling but that’s what it’s called!
DenverDSC04487
The sky immediately prior to it thundering and lightning
