I’ve already visited most of Atlanta’s main tourist attractions; the Martin Luther King Historic Site, World of Coca Cola, Olympic Centennial Park, and so on. I don’t really fancy the CNN Tour nor the Jimmy Carter Library so the main one left is Stone Mountain Park. This place is quite far out on the opposite side of Atlanta from where I’m staying and Atlanta is a huge sprawling city. It was probably worth the close to two-hour trip on the bus, two underground trains and an additional bus to get there. Fortunately it was a bit overcast, yet still over 80F in the shade (they still use the old-fashioned temperature scale here). The half-hour ascent over some fairly steep rock was quite challenging. Jogging up to the summit appeared to be a popular leisure activity for the local fitness fanatics. The view from the top of the rock was quite nice.

Back in the city I wandered through Little Five Points, one of the so-called hip areas that the younger people of Atlanta frequent. I was a bit early to see the Portugal v Austria game and couldn’t justify three hours in a bar. Next stop was Piedmont Park, Atlanta’s equivalent of New York’s Central Park. Or as I like to call it, Atlanta’s equivalent of Birkenhead Park, surely the yardstick for any showpiece urban recreational area. Just outside of the park a bomb squad van flew past me so closely that it near blew my hair off. Later on the news it turned out to be a false alarm. The final thing I wanted to see in Atlanta was the Millennium Gate Arch, a recently built monument. Although it looks quite good in the pictures, it’s probably not worth a mile detour in 90F heat. My opinion is probably not helped by seeing the Arc de Triomphe in Paris a couple of weeks ago. If the Arc de Triomphe is a 10/10 arch, I’d give the smaller version next to the Louvre in Paris 7/10 and Atlanta’s Millennium Gate Arch 5/10 at best.

Atlanta2DSC02041
Bottom of Stone Mountain
Atlanta4DSC02081
Piedmont Park
Atlanta5DSC02090
Millennium Gate Arch
